Maybe in Another Life

3.5 Great concept, but the story left me wanting for more.

I was so excited to read, a breathtaking new novel about a young woman whose fate hinges on the choice she makes after bumping into an old flame; in alternating chapters, we see two possible scenarios unfold—with stunningly different results.At last, there was nothing breathtaking about this one. At the age of twenty-nine, Hannah Martin still has no idea what she wants to do with her life…held countless meaningless jobs since graduating college. I can relate, and was super excited to lose myself in this story.

More from the synopsis, In concurrent storylines, Hannah lives out the effects of each decision. Quickly, these parallel universes develop into radically different stories with large-scale consequences for Hannah, as well as the people around her. As the two alternate realities run their course, Maybe in Another Liferaises questions about fate and true love.” However, lose myself in this story I did not. The characters were developed well enough, but neither of the alternate love stories, was exciting, nor captivating, leaving this to be a book with a great concept and mediocre story. I won’t even go into the beyond over used reference to cinnamon rolls. *insert eye roll and kill me now*

I didn’t hate it, but I’m not over the moon about it. It made a light and quick read to get me through a 24 hour read-a-thon.

Leave a Reply

