The Marriage of Opposites

The Marriage of Opposites

This book seriously gives me all the feels! It’s so exciting to give a novel five stars! Sadly, it hardly ever happens for me. I digress, this is the first book that I’ve read by Alice Hoffman, and I must say, I’m a fan. Staying up late to fly through the chapters, getting lost in such detailed descriptions of island life, and great character development…Sigh. What’s even better is that this story is based on an actual family. Camille Pissarro’s mother is the main character for most of the book, later the story focuses more on his life and struggle to become an artist. Not only did I thoroughly enjoy this book, it introduced me to a new favorite painter. I can not believe I’d never heard of Pissarro since I consider myself a fan of impressionism and many of his colleagues, win-win!

If you’re a fan of historical fiction and complicated love stories, you’re sure to enjoy this one. It has interesting and well developed characters, and her detailed descriptions of island life are dreamy.  The story will draw you in, and even as you start to put two and two together regarding various side plots, it’s still such an enjoyable read that you won’t want to put it down. I highly recommend it, and can’t wait to read more from this author. Did I mention, ALL THE FEELS?

Leave a Reply

