Fates And Furies

Fates And Furies

Wow. I have been waiting for the release of this book for ages! Was beyond excited when it was finally released, and now I’m left with feelings of…Ugh. I’m sad to report that it was not all that to me. I can’t believe it’s a finalist for a writing award. I read a review describing it as “pretentious and overwritten,” and I can’t say that I disagree. Don’t get me wrong, there are some beautiful words in there, but there’s a whole lot of dragging on about nothing (the two characters that make up the marriage) for what seems like forever. The first half of the book, Fates, narrates the couples twenty-something year relationship, and it indeed felt like twenty-something years. On and on and on, background story where we wonder if we’re getting the whole truth. C’mon, really? Then, finally if you can hang in there for Furies, it picks up a bit. The second half of the book smokes the first, in my opinion. Hands down so much better. Even though the attempts at humanizing the wife were a bit lost on me. Still, thank goodness, at least I hung in there for some sort of payoff.

I can’t say that it’s all the hype that the book has gotten that let me down. I’m not really one to fall for hype in the first place. It’s just that the synopsis sounded so interesting. At base level, I guess it was. There was a ton of character development (even though I feel like I lack a connection). A bunch of pretty words and sentences. It just all seemed like it was trying too hard to me.

If I were a reader that gave books 100 pages to grab me, I would not have finished this. Have you guys read this one? What are your thoughts? Is the hype justified?

Leave a Reply

